Indian Council of Medical Research Indian Multipurpose Prevention Technologies for Reproductive Health Indian Council of Medical Research
International Symposium on
Accelerating Research on Multipurpose Prevention Technologies for Reproductive Health
11-12 December 2012 | New Delhi, India - India Habitat Centre, Lodhi Road

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Download Participant List (PDF Document) | Session Panelist Biographies (PDF Document)

(in alphabetical order)

Dinesh Aggarwal
National Programme Officer Reproductive Health
UNFPA
agarwal@unfpa.org

Mallika Alexander
Co-Investigator
NARI, Clinical Trial Unit
mallikaalexander@gmail.com

Damodar Bachani
Director, Professor and Head, Department of Community Medicine
Lady Hardinge Medical College
dr.bachani@gmail.com

Rashmi Bagga
Additional Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Postgraduate Institute of Medical Education & Research
rashmibagga@gmail.com

Alok Bannerji
Medical Consultant
Parivar Sewa Sanstha
alokbannerjee@gmail.com

*Rita Bannerji
Scientist-F,
Department of Science and Technology
ritab@nic.in

Aruna Batra
Consultant, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Safdurjung Hospital
aruna_batra1952@yahoo.com

Shalini Bharat
Professor
Tata Institute of Social Sciences (TISS)
sbharat2@yahoo.co.in

Madhulekha Bhattacharya
Professor and Head, Department of Community Health Administration
NIHFW
bhattacharya_madhulekha@yahoo.com

Deepa Borgohain
Head, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Assam Medical College
dborgohain2007@yahoo.co.in

Nayanjeet Chaudhury
Director-Research
Population Services International
nayanjeet@psi.org.in

*P.S. Chauhan
Consultant Toxicologist
pschauhan1939@gmail.com

Sanjay Chauhan
Scientist-E, Department of Operational Research
National Institute for Research in Reproductive Health
slchauhan@hotmail.com

Nandita Chopra
NIH Representative
HHS Office South Asia
U.S. Embassy
ChopraN@state.gov

Nitya Nand Deepak
PATH (India Office)
ndeepak@path.org

*Dr. Ajeesh N Desai
Director
SIHFW and State Nodal Officer Training
ajeshdesai@hotmail.com

B.R. Desai
Professor and Head, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology,
JNMC, Belgaum
drbrdesai@yahoo.com

Hema Diwaker
Consultant, Obstetrics and Gynecology
Divakars Hospital, Bengaluru & President Elect FOGSI
drhemadivakar@gmail.com

Paul Francis
Technical Officer
WHO Country Office for India
pfrancis@gmail.com

R. Gangakhedkar
Scientist-E, Clinical Sciences
National AIDS Research Institute
rgangakhedkar@nariindia.org

Om Garg
Chairman
Cupid, Ltd.
omramtrading@att.net , ogarg1@yahoo.com

Suneela Garg
Professor, Department of Community Medicine
Maulana Azad Medical College
gargsuneela@gmail.com

Bitra George
Country Director
Family Health International
bgeorge@fhiindia.org

Nancy Godfrey
Health Office Director
USAID/India
ngodfrey@usaid.gov

Jaideep Gogtay
Medical Director
Cipla Ltd.
jgogtay@cipla.com

Rajat Goyal
Country Director
IAVI
rgoyal@iavi.org

Satish Gupta
Scientist-G and Chief, Genetic Biology Unit
National Institute of Immunology
skgupta@nii.res.in, skgupta05@rediffmail.com

Ritu Joshi
Chairperson
Family Welfare Committee, FOGSI
ritujoshi01@rediffmail.com

Smita Joshi
Programme Director
HCJMRI
smitanjoshi@gmail.com

V.M. Katoch
DG, ICMR &Secretary, DHR
vishwamohan_katoch@yahoo.co.in

M.E. Khan
Regional Associate Director
Population Council
mekhan@popcouncil.org

Sunil Khaparde
Deputy Director General
National AIDS Control Organization
sunilkhaparde@gmail.com

Ajay Khera
Deputy Commissioner, MOHFW
CH & I
ajaykheramch@gmail.com

Alka Kriplani
Professor and head
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
AIIMS
kriplanialka@hotmail.com

KRS Krishnan
Head R&D
HLL Lifecare Limited
krskrishnan@lifecarehll.com

Suneeta Krishnan
Adjunct Associate Professor
St. John's National Academy of Health Sciences
suneeta.krishnan@gmail.com

Anand Kondapi
Professor, Department of Biotechnology, School of Life Sciences
University of Hyderabad
akondapi@gmail.com

Smita Kulkarni
Scientist D
National AIDS Research Institute
ssknari@hotmail.com

Vinay Kulkarni
Medical Director
PRAYAS
vinay@prayaspune.org

Amit Kumar
Goyal Department of Pharmaceutics
ISF College of Pharmacy
goyalddrl@gmail.com

NK Lohiya
Emeritus Medical Scientist & President-ISSRF,
Centre for Advanced Studies
University of Rajasthan
lohiyank@gmail.com

Shivani Mathur
Research Associate- Health Communication
PHFI
shivani.mathur@phfi.org

Joydeep Mukherjee
Professor and Head, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
RG Kar, Kolkata
joydevmukherji@gmail.com

Shirshendu Mukherjee
Strategic Advisor, Technology Transfer, R&D Initiative
Wellcome Trust, New Delhi
s.mukherjee@wellcome.ac.uk

Saroj Pachauri
Country Director and Distinguished Scholar
Population Council
spachauri@popcouncil.org

R. Paranjape
Director
National Aids Research Institute
rparanjape@nariindia.org

A.K. Pradhan
Deputy Drugs Controller of India
Central Drugs Standard Control Organization
dci@nb.nic.in

TLN Prasad
Consultant
National AIDS Control Organization
ellenturlapati@gmail.com

Bobby Ramakant
Director of Policy and Programmes
Citizen News Services
bobbyramakant@yahoo.com

S.K. Rao
Joint Sec, Directorate of Health Services
MOHFW
Rao_kamlesh@hotmail.com

KVR Reddy
Scientist-F, Division of Molecular Immunology
National Institute for Research in Reproductive Health
shrichi@rediffmail.com

S. E. Reddy
Deputy Drugs Controller of India
Central Drugs Standard Control Organization
reddywz@gmail.com

*G.J. Samathanam
Head, Technology Development and transfer
Department of Science and Technology
samathanam@nic.in

Seema Sahay
Scientist-D, Social & Behavioral Sciences
National AIDS Research Institute
ssahay@nariindia.org

Sandeep Sarin
Director
Department of Biotechnology
sundeep.dbt@gmail.com

Avina Sarna
Senior Associate
Population Council
asarna@popcouncil.org

Gowri Sastry
Head: Dept. of Clinical Research & Development
Smt. Kashibai Navale Medical College and General Hospital
gowsas@gmail.com

Badri Saxena
Research Professor (Health & Population Policies ) Centre for Policy Research
(CPR), New Delhi and Chair - DHRs / ICMRs Microbicides Experts Group ( MEG )
for the prevention of HIV/non HIV STIs / RTIs / unintended pregnancies, New Delhi.
bnsaxenacpr1@yahoo.co.uk

W. Sita Shankar
Director of Maternal, Child Health, and Nutrition
PATH (India Office)
sshankar@path.org

Sunita Sharma
Deputy Secretary, Directorate of Health Services
MOHFW
sharma.sunita@nic.in

*Nozer Sheriar
Secretary General
FOGSI, Mumbai
sheriar@bom7.vsnl.net.in

S.K. Sikdar
Deputy Commissioner (IP&FP)
MOHFW
sk.sikdar@nic.in

*G.N. Singh
DCGI (Drug),
Central Drugs Standard Control Organization
dci@nb.nic.in

S. Sinha
Advisor
Department of Biotechnology
ssinha.dbt@gmail.com

*Suniti Solomon
Director-Founder
YRG CARE
suniti@yrgcare.org

Bulbul Sood
Country Director, Jhpiego
bsood@jhpiego.net

J. Subbana
Director, BPHRC
Lepra India
subbana@leprahealthinaction.in

*Renu Swarup
CEO
BIRAC
swarup@dbt.nic.in

G.P. Talwar
Director Research
Talwar Research Foundation
gptalwar@gmail.com

S. K. Trivedi
Executive Director
Indian Institute of Development Management
iidmbpl@gmail.com

Leila Caleb Varkay
Independent Researcher
leila.caleb@gmail.com

*S. Venkatesh
Deputy Director General
National AIDS Control Organization
drsvenkatesh@gmail.com

Ravi Verma
Regional Director
ICRW
rverma@icrw.org

Reynold Washington
Country Director: STI and Surveillance
Karnataka Health Promotion Trust
reynold@khpt.org

*Anandi Yuvraj
Asia Pacific Regional Coordinator
International Community of Women Living with HIV/AIDS (ICW)
anandi@icwglobal.org

International Experts

Martha Brady
Senior Associate
Population Council
mbrady@popcouncil.org

Cara J. Chrisman
AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellow
USAID
cchrisman@usaid.gov

Jessica Cohen
Program Officer/Co-Chair, Research Ethics Committee
PATH
jcohen@path.org

Manjula Lusti-Narasimhan
Scientist
World Health Organization
lustinarasimhanm@who.int

Judy Manning
Health Development Officer
United States Agency for International Development
jmanning@usaid.gov

Mukul Singh
Associate Research Professor
Weill Medical College of Cornell University
msingh7@hotmail.com

Alan Stone
Director
MEDSA Ltd.
Senior Advisor, CAMI|IMPT
alan.stonex@virgin.net

Bethany Young Holt
Director
Coalition Advancing Multipurpose Innovations |Initiative for Multipurpose Prevention Technologies,(CAMI|IMPT)
Public Health Institute
byh@cami-health.org

Allen Wu
Director, Center for Public Health Research
Nanjing University
popcon66@yahoo.com

Indian Council of Medical Research

Rashmi Arora
Scientist G and Head
Division of Epidemiology & Communicable Diseases
Indian Council of Medical Research
arorar@icmr.org.in

Nomita Chandhiok
Scientist F
Division of Reproductive & Child Health
Indian Council of Medical Research
n_chandhiok@hotmail.com

Mukesh Kumar
Scientist E
International Health Division
Indian Council of Medical Research
kumarm@icmr.org.in

A.K. Kundu
Scientist E
Division of Socio-behavioural Research
Indian Council of Medical Research
azadskundu@hotmail.com

Malabika Roy
Scientist F and Head
Division of Reproductive & Child Health
Indian Council of Medical Research
malaroy69@yahoo.com

R. S. Sharma
Scientist F
Division of Reproductive & Child Health
Indian Council of Medical Research
radheyss@gmail.com

Chander Shekhar
Scientist F
Division of Reproductive & Child Health
Indian Council of Medical Research
shekharc57@yahoo.com

Manjula Singh
Scientist C
Division of Epidemiology and Communicable Diseases
Indian Council of Medical Research
manjulas@icmr.org.in

Anju Sinha
Scientist D
Division of Reproductive & Child Health
Indian Council of Medical Research
apradhandr@gmail.com

*To be confirmed